Encounter with Sai

It was about a year ago when I had experienced a toothache, my first. I thought if I ignored it for long enough, it would get settled & sort itself out. I was wrong. A year after that niggling toothache, I underwent the most excruciating pain of my life last week. 

I came back home and informed my loved one who immediately started to google what the treatment was all about since none of us had any clue about it. 
I was told,” Your dentist will open your tooth through the crown, the flat part at the top, to access the soft tissue at the centre of the tooth (pulp). They’ll then remove any infected pulp that remains. If you have a dental abscess, which is a pus-filled swelling, your dentist will be able to drain it at the same time…..”

I finally got a dental appointment and the dentist told me the tooth could be saved. I agreed to undergo the first step of a root canal treatment. 

Really?!?

I couldn’t sleep the entire night. I don’t remember the last time I cried so hard. I was utterly scared. 

The next morning I made a silent prayer before leaving for the clinic, “be with me Sai.” 

At the clinic I was warmly settled by the doctors. They have been really kind. I closed my eyes as they were getting ready for the procedure.  

Deep within I said again, “be with me Sai.”
And there He was; in my mind’s eye I saw the vision of Baba. He had an endearing smile and a happy countenance which drew my focus onto His face instead of the pain. He looked at me & I understood that I am the reason He is smiling. He caught me up in His presence which surrounded me as I laid awake on the surgery chair.

The attraction of His magnetic eyes drew my attention away from the pain. He settled my soul and changed an overwhelming anxiety into an incomprehensible quietness of soul that enabled me to see and hear Him.
He gave me a peace that surpassed understanding.

Somehow He was communicating verbally to me but without speaking or moving His lips. As I uttered in my spirit, “I trust You,” a heaviness was removed. I was surprisingly unafraid. 

With tears streaming from my eyes, I groaned from a depth inside that I had not known before, and I silently exclaimed, “You are good. You are good. You are good!” My spirit fought and refused to declare anything less than the truth of Who He is.
He is good.

Sai knew I was on the surgery chair and the amount of pain I was in. My spirit responded to Him, “If You are ok with this [the surgery], then I’m ok with it, too.”

There were times I got distracted by the doctor crushing my nerve, there were times I lost my focus. But Baba allured me to Himself again and kept my attention on Him. He came close to me and I knew He was in control and had authority over my situation.

There were times I felt shocks of electricity on my forehead, my eyelid, and down my nose. The progression of the surgery was easily felt throughout. At times the pain or the doctors’ conversations distracted me from the vision of Baba but each time I became distracted, Sai faithfully allured me back to Himself with His eyes.

After about an hour the doctor tells me that the procedure was over. I opened my eyes and realised that in every way I had been taken care of and comforted by Him. 

“Why fear when I am here.”
Baba

Sai Ram! 

Acknowledgements:

Dr. Chandan Saharia & Dr. Kavita Saharia

Sai Dental Clinic

Photo Credits : Dipankar Dutta

Published by Arunimadutta

I am a blogger and this space is an outlet of emotions on paper where i share my moments of joy, pain, confusion, realization, redemption. This is where I share all of the nouns and verbs and occasionally some prepositions that make my world ''go round''. I can’t promise you much, but I can guarantee there will be plenty of introspection, laughter, wine, mistakes, travel photos, recipes, bargain shopping, feminism. adventures, pizza, movie references, fun facts, new workouts, goal setting, favorite beauty products, geeking out, liberal political views, road trips, oxford commas...uninterrrupted!!

18 thoughts on “Encounter with Sai

Leave a comment