The Golden Liquid

 

The easiest way to offend a mother is to tell her to use a lighter hand while applying ghee on anything. The fact that her children can survive without unhealthy quantities of ghee in their lives is hitherto unknown to her and she lives in complete oblivion to it. When I was growing up it took a lot of ”ma ghee aru nidiba” ( ma don’t add more ghee ) from my side to ”Chup thaka” ( keep quiet ) from mom’s side for her to not rub the morning rotis with the golden liquid. I still remember how mothership sat in a corner glaring at me for being such an unruly child. 

Mornings Now!

I said yes. He said no. I said more. He said less. I mumbled. He muttered. I grunted. He growled. I huffed. He puffed. I insisted. He persisted. I scowled. He frowned. I said I won’t give up; he said he won’t give in. After around thirty minutes of this drama, my son finally submitted to my 1000 ways to make him chubby. I absolutely don’t like being disturbed while cooking, especially when I am making  delicious alu parathas ( flatbread) and yes, I do slather them  with an over-generous helping of ghee.  And the expression on his face as he hungrily gulps down the hot parathas while muttering ” ma bohut bhaal hoise ” ( mom it’s superb ) is priceless! 

paratha blog

 

Happy Mother’s Day ! 

the golden liquid

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Golden Liquid

  1. Mother and daughter, are the only alive creations by god that can keep the ego aside, when needed. THE ONLY! If you are one, or you have one… Respect!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here I can see and feel the most strongest bond in the universe, the most beautiful relationship ever, the heavenly filial love and utmost care. May God shower blessings upon you both….always… “HAPPY MOTHERS DAY”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Here i can see and feel the strongest bond in the universe, the most beautiful relationship ever, the heavenly filial love and the utmost care. Wish you HAPPY MOTHERS DAY.. May almighty continue to shower blessings upon you both.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi,

    Just came across your Blog. Much impressed with your writing skills. Though not read all of them but yes! you have a wonderful expression in your writings.

    The most impressed was on the Mother Day! Really touching. I understand and honour the Mothers the most in my life as i believe that the MOTHER IS THE REAL NAARI SHAKTI which is alway PIOUS for everyone within the family and outside as well.

    No other relationship can be compared with Mother’s.

    My heartiest congratulations to you for your writings. Keep it up and share more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

