Am i? I am.

thinkingman4

Am i a creative person? Do i have that thing in me? And if i don’t can it be learned? Questions gallore as i see blank sheets infront of me. Did i not tell my hubby how much i hate this pen! Its fat and uncomfortable and …………shut up lady! No excuses. Well, coming back to creativity i once read somewhere that creativity is a muscle we all have but some use it more than others. It’s like we all don’t have abs like Maria Sharapova but, we all have abs. The book points out 10 things super creative people do to build up their super creative strength.

1. They observe everything.

Self Analysis: Well, i am a good observer, you can forever see me joting down notes feverishly on my observations. Not only that, i take inspiration from what i observe and turn it into something new. So you see, i am not the goof-off or day-dreamer that i am made out to be.

2. Spend time alone.

Self Analysis: My corner, see, how much i love being there while the world tags me a loner. So dont you dare write me off as a solitudinarian anymore. The distractions of life aren’t really supportive of innovative inspiration. A fertile imagination can only blossom into something new in solitude.

3. Take risks.

Self Analysis: Making something from nothing as i am doing now is a risk. Showing it to the world is a whole other enchilada. It’s not for the faint of heart either. I am taking risks. I am pouring my heart out in my blog, my fears and insecurities, i might be damned and ridiculed. I am being brave.

4. Turn ‘failures’ into learning experiences.

Self Analysis: Albert Einstein once said, “Failure is success in progress.” I absolutely volunteer for it. I even have a poster of the quote hanging on my wall. I fail everyday. And i turn the other way round. And hit a wall or pillar. Happens. Lesson learned.

5. Ask questions.

Self Analysis: I ask a lot of questions, don’t even go there. Curiosity may have killed the cat but i need to know more. I dig deep, ask and ask till the world shuts me off for a moron. I know i am in the block list of a considerable amount of people walking the earth. Like i care.

6. Follow their passion.

Self Analysis: I fail a lot. Many a times hours go by without me being able to write a single sentence. Then there is lack of encouragement and positive feedback from the expected ones. But none of these can lock my passion. Watch out, i shall keep going while you give up.

7. Make connections.

Self Analysis: Networking? Well i am on facebook, twitter, instagram, tumblr. Yeah! If that’s what you mean.

8. Push boundaries.

Self Analysis: I see possibilities where others see roadblocks. It’s reverse at times. Let’s not count those instances. It can be ignored. Usually i have the ability to look past all the naysayers, the challenges, and impossible odds to the end goal. I get bored very easily. I can’t do the same thing over and over again. The mundane, mediocre, and monotonous is like a living hell to me, i like shaking things up and make life more interesting and exciting.

9. Admit they don’t know everything.

Self Analysis: See i know i am way outside the realm of expertise and i admit it. I am open to the wisdom of those who have gone before me and ask for help when i need it. Aristotle once said, “The more you know, the more you know you don’t know.” Agreed. Period.

10. Keep Creating…Even When They Don’t Get External Affirmation of The Work.

Self Analysis: I can’t help but keep creating, i fall, i fail, i pick myself up and i go back to my table and try writing again. It’s like breathing to me. Recently i got a ‘not so’ positive feedback from the editor of a famed daily and although i wanted to slap the fatty and put dogs after her, i kept my calm, came home, had some wine and was ready with my pen and paper.

DONE!

aKiOoI am still staring at the blank sheet. Yet to drop a word. Did i not tell there is something wrong with this pen!

2 thoughts on “Am i? I am.

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    This is a very brave and honest post. I especially like this part – “I know i am in the block list of a considerable amount of people walking the earth.” – Well, if people are blocking you, you’re likely doing something right, like telling truths they do not wish to hear. And that is good. 🙂

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts. You may see me drop by again during November, but it might be December before I finish my first drop by to blogs if I don’t get faster at leaving comments. 🙂

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

