Writing is hard !!!

WRITING IS HARD. It can be painful. It can be infuriating. I want to give up ! And it’s not the end of the story. Good writing is EVEN HARDER. It takes WORK. I know i dillude myself into thinking I can crank out something, tweak it a bit, and then it will be fantastic.This almost NEVER happens.

Writingishard

Have you ever wanted something so bad that you could visualize yourself with it? You could see, hear, and almost taste it? Then, you didn’t get it. What does that feel like? Well…it feels like crap. Recently, I didn’t get something I really wanted. I also got some feedback on my latest project that was, well…let’s say it didn’t make me feel like running around telling the world how wonderful life is. The feedback was honest, supportive, and helpful but it was not what I wanted to hear. Then enters the voice. That voice, the one you try not to listen to but it’s there constantly haranguing you about why you are such a loser. “You’re a sham. You’re a fraud. What makes you think you can do this? You can’t even find your car keys that you lost a month ago!”

This is where we have a choice….listen to the voice that bleeds us out and give more power to it or kindly show that voice the door and kick it in the ass on the way out. So, I said, “Thank you for your observations but you are wrong. You need to go away now.” The voice didn’t leave without a fight, that would be too easy. But it is getting fainter the more I tell it to get the heck out of dodge.”

So you see there’s no magic pill. No combination of things to do or things not to do. No amount of workshops we can take. No matter how much i kid myself that doing all this other crap contributes to my writing, it doesn’t. I have to work. WORK. And stop comparing myself to other people who have done the work and reaped the rewards. Fear is bound to sneak in….the fear that it’s already been done, said, created. But why bother ???

“The story of how you came to know what you know.
The story of what you want to know more of.
The story of why you do what you do.
The story of how you came to care.

Say it, do it, make it anyway….but tell YOUR story along the way……”

Danielle LaPorte

And that’s how you create what’s never been created before. Yes!!

Goclist

4 thoughts on “Writing is hard !!!

Leave a Reply

