Let’s do it! Done!

Big hello!

Erma-BombeckThat’s Erma Bombeck. One of my favourite writer’s of all time. She had three kids and was extremely prolific. Her formula for success was blending writing and parenting. She had a knack for looking at the mundane aspects of parenting in a humorous light and writing about it. Another major reason she was so productive is she set a time to write that worked for her family.

Cartoon-Mums-iPodThat’s me. I want to be writer. I have recently started blogging and i have committed to write one post a day for NaBloPoMo. Most people think that writers/ aspiring writers sit down at their mahogany desks, summon the muse, and start writing only stopping every now and then to gaze wistfully out the picture window overlooking a serene Koi pond or a view of the ocean. Yeah, that happens…in the movies. The reality is much more gritty, aggravating, and soul draining.

writers-blockSeriously! If i could just get five minutes without someone asking me to help them find their left sock…or if i could get my son to stop arguing with his dad over who gets to watch what they want on TV…or if i could get my brother’s toddler to stop eating the cat’s tail, MAYBE i could get some writing done.

Parenting and writing seem to be polar opposites but there are some who seem to figure it out. Look at Erma Bombeck. She kept to it no matter who was arguing or who didn’t have a left sock. So here’s the real reason why i am not writing. It’s easy to blame our children and husband for sucking the time out of our writing. We all know that’s not the real reason why we’re not writing. We’re exhausted, and the last thing we feel like doing is using our brain to write. And that’s okay because parenting does drain our brain more than anything else a person can do…except maybe herd cats, that’s impossible. I’ve got to lower my expectations…umm, I’ve got to do that too.

busy_mom

So, here i am, writing, not because i have to but because i want to, because this is what i love to do…for myself. I have to be more efficient because i have no choice. I have to work better because i have lesser time for myself. There are no ideal conditions, never will be. As E.B White has rightfully remarked, ” a writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.”

Raising a well-adjusted, compassionate, responsible, and awesome child is not easy. My husband and I have this saying about being parents, “If it’s hard to do, it’s the right thing to do.” Unfortunately, this seems to be true with every major parenting milestone we’ve ever come across. I’m discovering that this is also true with writing. If i’ve got a book in me that needs to come out, it’s not going to be easy. It will require perseverance, commitment, and discipline to get it done. But the secret sauce is this, aptly quoted by Dana Leipold,

                                       ” The desire to do it has got to be more than the pain of not doing it. “

If i can remain in that feeling, i’ll get shit done. I’m serious.

Cheers for Stick-to-it-iveness and tenacity!!

6 thoughts on “Let’s do it! Done!

Leave a Reply

