Gratitude!

November, monday morning!

I woke up feeling clueless, introverted and extroverted in equal measure. The weekend consisted of meeting some of my long-time favorite cousins and friends ( david, mili, pori ), meeting few fabulous new-to-me faces, bit of public speaking and the natural anxiety that begets, and plenty of general socialization and high – strungness that are always a bi-product of these types of conferences. I love being around people but after a weekend like that i need plenty of alone time to recharge afterwards. Towards the end of all the fun and excitement i found myself outrageously bad-tempered….the low that often comes immediately after the high.

And this is where Yoga comes for rescue….

Sometimes we have to remind ourselves that it is not what happens to us that determines how we feel, its how we deal with life, how we feel in ourselves. And my morning yoga actually helped remind myself of this, it has shown me the way to increase my ability to deal with what life throws at me, with grace, while feeling calm, grounded and strong. Guruji encourages us to practice yoga  just for fun…..like  Buddha already said “a routine or practice is not the way to happiness, happiness is the way”.  So as long as we practice yoga because we want to, and we enjoy it, we are making happiness the way…

And this november morning looks good now…. gorgeous. The aum chanting had brought in me a tremendous feeling of gratitude. I am grateful for my strong and healthy body, the sunshine, my faith, and my family. As I get older, I find all too easy to fall into the trap of regretting the past and wishing that my life had turned out differently. We all have choices in life. I can choose to be sad and bitter, or I can choose to be happy and grateful. Thanks to my faith, I choose gratitude.

Peace to all.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude!

Leave a Reply

