Follow your heart..

Hello friends!

IMG_2941

A humongous thanks to all the warm wishes and comments on yesterdays post. It’s little funny,actually sweet…ummm funny and sweet because it took me like an hour and half to crank out those little paragraphs… that’s how uninspired and verbally constipated I’ve been feeling lately, when it comes to blogging and writing as a whole. And I had a very “meh” attitude about what the response would be. I thought there would be a few nice comments and maybe a lot of radio silence from all those who would be thinking to themselves, “yeah, time to retire the blog now, hey girl, you kind of do suck.” I really didn’t count on such thoughtful and insightful comments though but they really lifted my spirits and reminded me exactly why I fell in love with blogging in the first place. So thank you, means a lot to me. I can promise this blog won’t be marginally as sucky in November as it has been last month. I have my reasons here, i am participating in November 2014 NaBloPoMo, which means i have committed to post every single day of this month, which also means my ass is literally glued to my chair as i think and plan my post, and eat and think some more and forget what i was thinking…..okay! Understood! Things go wrong. I’m trying….. but I do feel a lot more motivated going forward, to bring this blog back to something that I’m really proud of.

So, since i have totally forgotten what i wanted to write today, thanks to the chocolate donut that ate my fertile thoughts, lets write something that happened few moons ago. I happened to be at my good ol’ granny’s house and suddenly the question of living up to one’s potential entered my mind. I am vaguely aware of the fact that some people in my life, particularly in my past, pre-married life, probably think and talk things like, “Arunima is so intelligent… had so much potential… and now look at her. What happened??”
’Tis true. I was the brainy one in school and college – straight A’s across the board, the whole bit. I was destined for great things, and blah, blah, blah. But don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I don’t think I’ve done anything worthwhile since college. Quite the contrary, in fact. But I am saying that people’s perceptions of whether or not you’re living up to your potential don’t always match up with reality.

As I was pouring my little cup of french press coffee yesterday, pondering this question of potential and living up to it, I decided quite indefinitely that I am, indeed, living up to my potential, even though some people might not perceive what I’m doing as thus. I think a lot of people in creative careers face this issue, but the truth of the matter is that owning your own business, whether it’s a successful law practice or a greeting card company or a professional blog, takes brains and skills that not everyone possesses. The same skills that earned me straight A’s in college are building me a successful business currently,  one that will stand out from the crowd and succeed when so many others fail.  For some people, it’s just difficult to understand the concept of working for one’s self. If you can’t say “I work at Such and Such doing Such and Such With My Degree,” they’re like, “huh? So, you don’t have a job, then?”

The point of this post isn’t to toot my own horn, but rather it is to encourage YOU. I know so many of my readers are at a similar place in life as I am, and it’s a place and time when you really start to question this idea of living up to potential. And I guess I just wanted to encourage you to remember that the only standard you must meet is your own….the only path you should follow is the one your heart leads you on. Whether that’s a career in medicine or law or art or PR or writing or photography or being a mom or… or… or… you tell ME!!

Follow your heart!

And eat donuts!

NaBloPoMo November 2014

Leave a Reply

